Navigation
Home Page

Spellings

Spellings Thursday 19th March 2020. To be learned by Monday 23rd March

Please discuss with your child, how these spellings are the 'contracted form' of two words. (See brackets after each word.) The children will be expected to use the apostrophe in the correct place in their spelling test and then going forwards, in their writing.

 

Perhaps they could make a list of other contraction words when they have learned the ones for the test e.g. don't

 

I’m         (I am)

I’ll          (I will)

I’ve        (I have)

I’d          (I would)

you’ve    (you have)

 

Don't forget to use Spelling Shed to work on the spelling test list words and other phonics you choose.

Spellings Thursday 12th March 2020. To be learned by Monday 16th March

Try putting each of these words in a sentence as you learn to spell them.

 

because

said

says

saw

was

Spellings Thursday 5th March 2020. To be learned by Monday 9th March

Try writing these words out in a sentence. Ensure the correct 'their' is used. This one shows possession or ownership.

For example, 'Their coat is blue' or 'Parents are keen to help their children'.

 

some

their

school

house

friend

 

Spellings Thursday 27th February 2020. To be learned by Monday 2nd March.

Please ensure your child can read these words both in and out of context as well as being able to spell them.

They could also try writing the words in sentences.

 

come

one

here

there

where

Spellings Thursday 6th February 2020. To be learned by Monday 10th February.

 

More tricky words to read and spell.

 

children

house

there (direction - e.g. It's over there)

because

every

 

These are the last spellings now until after the half term holiday. Spellings will be given out again in the first week back. Please continue to use spelling shed over half term and revise previous lists. Some of those words will be coming up in future spelling tests!

Spellings Thursday 30th January 2020. To be learned by Monday 3rd February.

 

Some tricky words that we need to spell accurately in our independent writing.

people

called

could

should

asked

 

Please try writing these in sentences to make sure they can be used in context.

Spellings Thursday 23rd January 2020. To be learned by Monday 27th January.

 

(Plural words ending 'es' as covered in English lessons)

boxes

foxes

lunches

buses

bushes

Spellings Thursday 16th January 2020. To be learned by Monday 20th January.

 

even

Autumn

lawn

hair

fear

Spellings Thursday 9th January 2020. To be learned by Monday 13th January.

 

wave

float

bone

flute

cube

Spellings Thursday 12th December 2019. To be learned by Monday 16th December.

 

nose

globe

rude

cube

were

 

These will be the last spellings for this term. There will be no new spellings to learn over Christmas but please continue to use Spelling Shed and go over words from all lists from this term so far.

Spellings Thursday 5th December 2019. To be learned by Monday 9th December.

 

these

even

hide

slide

today

Spellings Thursday 28th November. To be learned by Monday 2nd December.

 

wheel

dolphin

made

snake

could

 

Please note the introduction of the split vowel digraph in 'made' and 'snake'. The children may tell you about this! The 'e' changes the sound of the vowel 'a' from the short to the long vowel sound.

Spellings Thursday 21st November. To be learned by Monday 25th November.

 

snow

pie

clue

blue

looked

 

Don't forget to log-in to Spelling Shed to help you learn them!

Spellings Thursday 14th November. To be learned by Monday 18th November.

 

stir

draw

haunt

chew

their

Spellings Thursday 7th November. To be learned by Monday 11th November.

 

play

bead

cloud

boy

people

 

Please see childrens' Homework books for their log-in details to Spelling Shed. A brief letter about this has been sent home with your child's Spelling book. We hope they enjoy using Spelling Shed!

 

The spelling list sent home in Spelling books now has the focus sounds coloured within the word. 'Tricky words' will not have any sounds highlighted.

Spellings Thursday 24th October. To be learned by Tuesday 5th November. (Monday 4th is an INSET Day)

so

there

little

out

this

Spellings Thursday 17th October. To be learned by Monday 21st October.

 

when

were

what

one

have

Spellings Thursday 10th October. To be learned by Monday 14th October

 

like

said

some

come

do

Spellings Thursday 3rd October. To be learned by Monday 7th October.

 

very

look

saw

you

was

Spellings Thursday 26th September. To be learned by Monday 30th September.

 

they

are

this 

day

one

Spellings Thursday 19th September. To be learned by Monday 23th September.

 

her

was

my 

here

and

Spellings Thursday 12th September. To be learned by Monday 16th September.

 

we

be

you

all

with

Spellings Thursday 5th September. To be learned by Monday 9th September.

 

the

go

he

she

me

 

The children will need to be able to read and write these words for a test on Monday. Advice on how to help your child is on the inside cover of their Spelling Book. This needs to be returned to school every Monday.


Top